In Photo: Thomas Koraido, Tenasia Law, Josie Sweitzer, Shaq McCray, Cyle Giles, Tutu Wreh, Anne Jiang, Taylor Zinman, and Elyna Paulk.


The 20th annual Student Life Awards Banquet, sponsored by the Office of Student Affairs, was held in the J. Curtis McKinney II Student Union at the University of Pittsburgh at Titusville on Tuesday, April 8, 2014.

The dinner and awards ceremony recognizes and honors student’s organizational achievements.

Parris Carter, Executive Director of Student Affairs, was Master of Ceremonies. Jeff Ledebur, who represents Campus Ministries, provided the invocation.

Awards were presented in the following categories: Organizational recognition, recognition of service, athletic and intramurals, and achievement awards.

The Student Leadership Award (upperclassman) is given annually to a second year student who has made outstanding contributions to student life at Pitt-Titusville. This year’s recipients were Josie Sweitzer and Tutu Wreh.

Tenasia Law and Shaq McCray were awarded the Freshman Leadership Award. This award is given annually to a first year student who has shown excellence in leadership abilities in the classroom, work areas, residence halls, and campus activities. Shawn Cass and Thomas Koraido were presented with the Commuter Student Leadership Award.

Cyle Giles was the recipients of the Resident Assistant of the Year Award and Anne Jiang was the RA with the highest GPA.

The Residence Life Leadership Award was presented to Taylor Zinman and Anne Jiang. This award is given annually to a student who resides within the campus residence halls for at least one year and is actively involved in residence life programs and campus life.

Organizational recognition awards were presented to members of the Black Student Union, Student Activities Board, Alpha Omega, Commuter Student Association, Student Government Association, Phi Theta Kappa, RAHP, the Pitt-Titusville cheerleaders and members of the Ultimate Frisbee Club. The Black Student Union received the outstanding student organization award.

Kim Roser was presented with the student organization advisor of the year award for her many years of service in advising Alpha Omega and the Commuter Student Organization.

New this year was the presentation of the Good Citizen Award. This award is presented to the student who has effectively demonstrated a commitment to the pursuit of knowledge with personal integrity and academic honesty, and to the sanctity of the learning environment. This student must have passed at least 24 credits, maintained a minimum GPA of 2.0 and has demonstrated leadership within the campus and the community. Elayna Paulk was the recipient of this award.

The awards are selected in the second semester of each year through an application process, beginning with nominations of student leaders. Awards are determined by a selection committee that includes faculty and staff members.